I can’t quite put my finger on it, but there is something about this author’s writing style that makes me want to read more. I could not put this book down. I read it in one sitting. Normally, this size book takes me two days. It is definitely a 5-star book, but I am struggling with how to put it into words. Having said that, I need to break it down and figure it out. 🙂 I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

41XIjnXkK4L._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

Synopsis:

Looking for answers and desperate for change, Amanda goes on a spirit quest in the Jemez Mountains. While there, she meets a wolf, a bear, a hawk, and a swarm of bees. These personal totems lead Amanda to much-needed answers and a desire to live again. This heartwarming, magical realism adventure could be anyone of us facing personal tragedy—whether the crisis is death, divorce, or loss. Follow Amanda’s steps to recovery as they lead to healing. Enjoy the magic!

My Thoughts:

Amanda struggles with the fact that she cannot react with hatred to her current situation and instead just walks away. Without giving the story away, Amanda experiences two losses in one day. Her reaction, although perfect in my mind, haunts her for a year. She continues to have nightmares about how her mind thinks she should have reacted.

The author does a great job building the plot of Amanda’s life. This story grabbed my attention from the beginning and as I got into it, I could not put it down. The soul searching that Amanda experiences is unique and makes the reader wonder out loud! What would I do?

The title in itself tells us that Amanda goes on a retreat, but what she gets from it, I guess you will have to read the book to find out. I can tell you, that you will not be disappointed. The ending was a bit of a surprise, but an enjoyable surprise for sure. I highly recommend.

About the Author:

Award winning author, Chariss K. Walker, M.Msc., writes fiction and nonfiction books with a metaphysical message. All of her books are sold worldwide in eBook, paperback, and many are in large print. Chariss lives in Amarillo, Texas. Connect with Chariss on social media sites. She wants to hear from you. Visit her website at http://www.chariss.com for a complete social media list, including AuthorGraph.

walker

Have a wonderful week and weekend everyone!

And As Always, Live, Love, Laugh and by all means READ!

Sharon

 

