I’m Back

I have to say that I have been quite busy reading in the last week or so. I downed 3 books and started a 4th. I am so happy to be reading again. 🙂

So Today, I will stop and do a book review for one of my favorite authors. I know that you already know this author because I rave about her all the time. She has a talent for making the words fly through her books. I just love them!

Some of you have probably guessed that I am reviewing, Amy M Reade’s House of the Hanging Jade! 

Let me start by saying that I now have a new favorite Amy M. Reade Book. This is her third novel, and I loved all of them, but up until now, her first novel, The Hallstead House, was my favorite. That’s probably because the setting was the beautiful Thousand Islands of Upstate New York. By far, one of my favorite places in this glorious country of ours. The fact that my two beautiful little granddaughters live up there, well, that is just icing on the cake! Life is good.

Let’s get to the book

House of the Hanging Jade takes place in none other than Hawaii!!!! I know, I know, just hearing Hawaii makes you want to read it, right? I personally have never been to Hawaii, but while I was reading I felt as though I was right there. Amy has a way of drawing her readers right into the setting. She does this by describing the intricate details of the area. Every time she mentioned the hanging Jade, I could almost smell it. Of course, when I lived in Florida, I had some Jade around my house, so I know that glorious smell. Let’s talk about the food. Anybody who knows Amy already knows that she loves Hawaiian food. Me, well, I am not a lover of seafood, however, the descriptions of the foods and the use  of these words throughout the meal preparation and shopping for ingredients made me think. Hmmm, all kinds of delightful spices, fresh seafood daily, and fresh fruits and vegetables. And not to mention, the Jorgensons have their own Personal Chef! Who wouldn’t want a part of this world?

Oh, but it’s not all glorious, Kailani (I nicknamed her “K” to keep it at one syllable) has to deal with an ex-boyfriend who decides he must have her and follows her to Hawaii. Geoffrey turns out to be a formidable character. No, I don’t like him! My friend “K”and a certain someone will deal with him! Barbie, huh, perfect name for the lady of the house. 🙂 She is quite the Barbie Doll for sure. I tried to dislike her, but there was something about her, that just made me feel sorry for her. I feel as though, she will never find happiness. I guess that is because she is looking in all the wrong places. Cliche, I know! Lars, well, he is easy to like. A very kind man who does his best to hold his family together. You have to love a man like that. Liko, Shame on you! I expected more from you! You should have listened to your friend “K”. Good Grief! Then there were the kids, Marcus, and Justine. They were typical rich kids who learned to fend for themselves since the parents were never around. Kind of sad, but at the same time intriguing. They learn to both love and hate “K” throughout the story. Oh, I almost forgot Akela, (her nickname is “AK”). Every story needs a family gossip. That is “AKs” role, and she does a really good job.As, if that wasn’t enough of a character list, Amy throws in K’s family, who just happen to own an amazing bakery. Yes, you heard right, a bakery! WOW!

Amy does a wonderful job of building all of these characters throughout the book. It is filled with page-turning events including all of the above and adding mystery, suspense and yes, murder! As I tried to figure out the killer, I was torn between two of the characters. I ended up leaning in the right direction and figured it out before the reveal. There are tons of twists and turns throughout the story, some surprises and some expected, but undoubtedly,  this novel is definitely an attention grabber!  In case you are wondering, I must give this novel a 5 Star! No doubt about it!  I love a good mystery! And Amy does it well!

Before I end my review, I want to take a minute to discuss the cover. Imagine this, sitting on a lanai of a glorious beautiful home facing the Pacific Ocean and this is what you see! Wow, from pictures that I have seen of Hawaii, I would say that this cover does it all extremely well. It’s gorgeous.

House of the Hanging Jade cover with USA Today (2)

AMy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About the Author:

USA Today Bestselling author Amy M. Reade writes women’s contemporary and gothic fiction. Her books have been compared to authors such as Daphne du Maurier, Phyllis Whitney, and Victoria Holt. Amy’s novels feature vivid descriptions of exotic and fascinating locations, such as the Thousand Islands region of New York State, Charleston, South Carolina, and the Big Island of Hawaii.

A former attorney, Amy found that writing was her true calling, and is currently working on a new project, a series set in Edinburgh, Scotland. She loves cooking, reading, and travel. You can visit her website, Click here for website, where, in addition to information about her books and appearances, you will find a contact form, suggested playlists to go along with her novels, and notes and recommendations on wines.

So, it’s time for you to head on over to Amazon to pick up your copy of House of the Hanging Jade. You don’t want to miss this wonderful Novel!

House of the Hanging Jade on Amazon Books

 

 

