About Dennis Hart

Dennis Hart is the owner of an environmental equipment rental company in Massachusetts. He is an avid reader and an aspiring author. Since joining a writer’s forum in 2010 called “The Next Big Writer,” his work has been well received and critiqued by other authors. His memoir, Life Minus 3½, was ranked number one for several weeks out of hundreds of submissions. In a separate writing contest judged by published authors, the memoir was selected third best out of 427 entries.
In addition to his memoir, Dennis has written, Gulf Boulevard, and it’s sequel Sand Key. I have read and enjoyed all three of these books. However, this posting will focus on Life Minus 3 1/2.

Other Books, that I have not read are Pictures of Children, Flight of the Owl, and three short stories, Storms, Bandits and Heat Wave.

Life Minus 3 1/2

An Excerpt

…Sweat beaded on my forehead, and electricity surged through my nerves. My stomach tightened. It was time for me to move.

I reached up to the dome light and switched it to the off position. I then powered down my window until I had his car in sight. Gripping the handle, I leaned against the door until it opened, soundlessly, just far enough to allow me to slip out of the truck and back into the night. I stood silently in the mist, gripping my gun. Tears welled in my eyes. Sanity tried to get the better of me, but Darkness repelled it. I closed my eyes and wished I had never been born. How did my life get so out of control?

I willed my shaking gun hand to steady and started to walk toward the Cadillac.

 

What Others had to say

“…The inherent suspense throughout contrasts well with Hart’s candid and effortless writing style, he recounts every mistake from a refreshingly honest and self-effacing perspective. Recommended both as a suspenseful story and a cautionary tale of yielding to temptation.”

KIRKUS Review

“I hated turning that final page on your memoir. You’ve taken us on a journey that had ups and downs, ins and outs, twists and turns, yet you persevered. You bravely handled adversity, overcame an addiction, and came out on the other side a better man. I admire your sense of humor at all times, but especially in the darkest of hours. I also admire the strength it took to get through that whole experience and write about it.”

Amy Metz/Author of “The Goose Pimple Junction Series.”

My Thoughts

So often when we, as avid readers, think about memoirs, the first thing that comes to mind is sadness. We read, after all, not for sadness but to take us to a place of happiness, that unrealistic fantasy that we often wish for in life. Maybe we want to win the lottery or find that perfect knight in shining armor. So for me, I was reluctant to read this memoir so close to the holidays since I assumed it would make me cry. But, a friend assured me that it wasn’t depressing, so I opted to read it. And yes, there were sections that made me cry, there were parts that made me want to slap Dennis, and there were parts that made me admire the man. So how does one experience all those emotions in one book?

Dennis Hart, tells his story of addiction, embezzlement, fear and loneliness. It is my opinion that it takes a tremendous amount of courage to tell this kind of story. He talks about what he did and why he did it with a heavy heart. In writing this memoir, Dennis is forced to relive the entire ordeal, from the beginning of his addiction to the return to his family after jail time.

In his epilogue, he writes about  some of his regrets. He talks about his failures, his low self-esteem and his out of control behavior. He especially regrets the pain that he caused his wife and his daughters. He states without doubt that he has no excuses for what he has done with his life. And I quote, “When the mood moves my wife, she’s not shy about reminding me how much I ruined her life. So for those who think I got off easy, my life sentence will never be pardoned.” I definitely believe that! I also believe that there is no cure for addiction, but how one learns to control it that eventually affects one’s life.

In closing, I will say that Life Minus 3 1/2 is well worth the read. Dennis writes his story hoping it will help someone out in the future. And I can assure you, it is a book that you will not soon forget!

Have a wonderful Holiday Season and don’t forget to:

Live, Love, Laugh, and by all means, READ!

Sharon

 

 

 

