Last week I promised I would do some research and post about some of my favorite sixties music. On my drive from New York to San Antonio, I listened to XM/Sirius Sixties on Six. I found myself smiling a lot! Here are a few of my favorites.

Burt Bacharach: Walk on By

I love this man’s talent. He has  lots and lots of songs that just reach in and touch the soul. . Although this was recorded for Dione Warwick, the YouTube below, Courtesy of Bruce Kennewell is the instrumental version. Close your eyes and listen! It is so very beautiful.

Walk On By

The Beatles: All My Loving And All You Need is Love

I cannot write about sixties music without including at least one Beatles song or my stepdaughter, Diane Aguanno Knox, would be very upset. I am sure that everyone remembers the Beatles first appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show on February 9, 1964. Don’t you? It was the first song most Americans ever heard the Beatles sing. Also, noteworthy is All You Need is Love…. It starts with the French National Anthem.

Elvis: Suspicious Minds

And Elvis Presley returns. Suspicious Minds became number one in 1969 and is the song that brought back success, following his 68 Comeback Special. There are so many songs by Elvis, it is impossible to just choose one.

Barbra Streisand: People
This is one that not only has beautiful instrumentals, but the lyrics are amazing. “People who need people, are the luckiest people in the world”. Why is it so difficult to admit we need people in our lives? I actually have vivid memories of saying; “I can do this on my own, I don’t need anybody.” But if truth be told, I have never been alone.” I have had people ask me how I managed to raise three boys alone. My answer; Support from family and friends. I would be lying if I said it was easy. It is very hard to ask for help, or just support in general. There is always that fear of  rejection. Overcoming the fear is the answer because “people who need people, are the luckiest people in the world.” There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that this is true!

OK, so I think I am going to break my promise just a little because one of my all time favorites didn’t start recording music in the U.S. until the early 70s. And I have to say that choosing just five (because of how long it takes) was very difficult.

Rod Stewart: Maggie May

In 1961, Rod Stewart went to a Jazz Festival. He met an older woman that took his virginity in a beer tent. According to his 2012 Autobiography he states, “How much older, I can’t tell exactly,” “But old enough that she was highly disappointed by the blink-and-you’ll-miss-it-brevity of the experience.” 10 years later he wrote “Maggie May,” a highly fictionalized experience of the early sexual encounter. It became his first huge hit and remains his signature song to this day.

I wanted to include videos for all of the songs I included here today, however, I do not want to break any copy write laws. However, I did include one because it is the instrumental version that I wanted to highlight. If you want to hear any of the others, you can do so by searching the song title and artist. Enjoy!

Even if you weren’t born during this time, I bet you have some 60s favorites. Leave me a comment and tell me what you like or perhaps dislike.

As always, Don’t forget to:

Live, Love, Laugh….. and by all means READ!

Sharon

