With the holidays fast approaching, I thought I would create a list of baking tips. When I was a young mom, I would always start baking right after Halloween, mostly because I would run out of time if I didn’t start early. It was great having cookies in the freezer whenever I needed them for a party, a school function, or last minute arrival of guests. Also, if you live in a colder climate, baking cookies warms the house up very quickly. 🙂

Today, I find myself looking things up as I bake and maybe it would be nice to have some of those things close by. What did we do before the internet?

Tip 1: Create a conversion chart. Print it on either photo paper or cardstock. Attach it to your refrigerator or stove with a magnetic.

.conversion chart

Tip 2: When making sugar cookies start with a basic recipe: Bake, freeze and then when needed, pull them out and decorate. Lots of fun for adults and kids. There are tons of recipes online. the following recipe is one that I found interesting. I haven’t tried it yet, but adding sour cream to the mix makes me think that they will not be dry and crumbly. Do you have a favorite cookie recipe? Please Share!

Soft Chewy Sugar Cookies:

Yield 40 Cookies

Ingredients:

2 cups sugar

1 cup butter

1 cup sour cream

2 eggs, beaten

2 teaspoons vanilla

 

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon nutmeg

4 cups flour

 

Cream the butter and the sugar together.

Add the sour cream.

Add the eggs and vanilla.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and nutmeg together. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the egg mixture, mixing gently until you have a soft dough.

Chill for about 1 hour.

Roll out on a lightly floured board. These cookies rise a lot, so keep that in mind when rolling out the dough.

Cut out shapes and place on an ungreased cookie sheet. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Bake for 9-10 minutes. The cookies should not brown and will firm up after cooling.

Decorate with your favorite frosting, glace, or colored sugar.

Tip 3: Use flour on utensils to keep dough from sticking: Dip the cookie cutters, and dust the spatula before transferring uncooked dough to a sheet. Rolling dough between two sheets of floured parchment will keep it from sticking to the rolling pin.

Tip 4: Measure the flour accurately. If the flour gets packed, you will end up with too much flour and a dry cookie. Some folks find that using a cake/pastry flour works better.

Tip 5: Mix the sugar and butter until fluffy; Use completely softened butter; (some like margarine, personally I prefer butter).

Tip 6: Be careful not to overmix after adding butter and sugar to your dry ingredients.

Tip 7: If you want a chewy cookie, bake for less time. All ovens vary! Start with the lowest number of minutes in the recipe. 

Tip 8: Use only unsalted butter. And this is true for all baking, otherwise your baked goods will be too salty.

Tip 9: Sprinkling your cookies with powdered sugar versus frosting will make them less sweet. If you don’t have powdered sugar, try microwaving granulated sugar. It turns into powdered sugar very quickly. 

Tip 10: When freezing your cookies spread them out in your freezer bag or slightly freeze before placing them in a bag to keep them from sticking together. Freeze them in bags of one dozen. A dozen is plenty to take to most gatherings. 

Personally, I am not a very good baker, I prefer to cook. However, the kids prefer to bake, so I am always looking for easy to bake desserts. Please feel free to leave me some suggestions, and share my post with your friends.

Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to:

Live, Love, Laugh and by all means Read!

Sharon

