Misled (About the Author and the Synopsis are Written with Permission from Annie Miles)

About the Author:

Annie Miles is the pseudonym for the real woman portrayed in Misled. She writes a mystery series and is the mother of two sons and the legal guardian of her mother, who gives her new material daily. Annie is a firm believer in the saying, “People are put into your life as either a blessing or a lesson.” You will find both in the characters of Misled. It is the lessons that fuel the book and the blessings that fuel Annie. The author lives in the South where she enjoys reading, writing, baking, and photography. She welcomes correspondence, particularly from women who are suffering through trying times.

Synopsis from HBS Authors Spotlight: Inspired by a true story of love, betrayal, and forgiveness.

When Diana, a lonely housewife, falls for Daniel–her daughter Annie’s teenage crush—she will stop at nothing to ensure he stays in her life. In Machiavellian style, Diana betrays her daughter, secretively designing, controlling, and planning Annie’s future. It isn’t until years later when Annie discovers letters exchanged by her mother and Daniel that she learns the truth and sees the manipulation and lies that led her to a doomed marriage.

Twenty years later, when Diana is diagnosed with dementia and Annie is forced to be her mother’s caretaker, she must come to terms with her mother’s betrayal, her husband’s deceit, and her own desire for love and happiness, all the while managing to maintain her sanity and sense of humor. Based on a true story, this book will shock, entertain, and astound you.

Untitled

I am definitely an avid reader, I love to read across genres, but sometimes I get stuck in one and can’t get out. Recently I have been reading lots of cozies because they are easy to read and make me laugh. Every once in a while, when I am crossing genres, I come across a book that just weighs heavily on my heart. This is one of those books. And this is a good thing; this is a wonderful book, beautifully written and filled with emotional turmoil. Annie begins each chapter with a quote which I love. Throughout the story, she shares her feelings of betrayal and deceit and ends it all with forgiveness.  A quote I especially love near the end of the book “I’ve heard forgiveness isn’t a gift you give to those who hurt you but one you give yourself”.

While reading, there were times when I had to stop and let it all sink in. In my opinion when an author can make you stop and contemplate, then they have done a great job. There were times when I cried with Annie, times when I felt sorry for her, and times when I wanted to slap her. All I could think was, Run… Annie… Run….

I want to thank Annie Miles for allowing me to highlight her story on my blog, and I am hoping that I have given you, my friends, something to think about and perhaps you will head over to Amazon and pick up a copy of this wonderful book. I truly admire Annie, and you will too!

It’s free if you are an Amazon Unlimited member, and $.99 to purchase the eBook.

Thanks for stopping by and remember to,

Live, Love and Laugh and by all means READ!

Sharon

